Institute lecture and felicitation of Prof Naveen Garg

An Institute Lecture by Prof. Naveen Garg is being organized on Tuesday 18th October, 2016 at 5:00 PM in LH 121. This would also be the occasion to publicly felicitate Prof. Garg for his recent Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award for Outstanding Contributions to Mathematical Sciences in India.


How do we make decisions without knowledge of the future? How do you decide between paying Rs 1000 for the monthly membership to the swimming pool and paying-per-swim at Rs 100/swim? This talk will explore the area of "Online Algorithms" where the input to the algorithm is revealed one step at a time and the algorithm has to make decisions while hedging against the future. The lack of information - about the future - can often be offset by "resource augmentation", and we shall demonstrate this through examples from the world of scheduling.


Prof. Naveen Garg is a Professor of Computer Science at the Indian Institute of Technology Delhi. His research interests are in Theoretical Computer Science, specifically in the design and analysis of algorithms. Naveen Garg did his B.Tech. and Ph.D. in Computer Science from IIT Delhi. He was a postdoctoral researcher at the Max-Planck-Institut fur Informatik, Germany from 1994 to 1997. Since 1998 he has been a faculty member in the CSE Department at IIT Delhi. He is currently co-director of the Indo-German Max-Planck Center for Computer Science and the Amar S. Gupta Chair for Decision Science. Naveen Garg's contributions are primarily in the design and analysis of approximation algorithms for NP-hard combinatorial optimization problems arising in network design, scheduling, routing, facility location, etc. He was awarded the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel award (2002) by the Humboldt foundation, Germany, was chosen by the Max-Planck-Society to form and head a partner group on "Approximation Algorithms" at IIT Delhi (2004), and received the AICTE Career Award for Young Teachers (2004), INAE Young Engineer Award (2005), INSA Young Scientist Medal (2006), IBM Research Faculty Award (2006) and IIT Delhi Teaching Excellence Award (2012). He is a Fellow of IASc and has been selected for the SS Bhatnagar award for Mathematical Sciences (2016).